Four Players Offered New Deals - Hull City

Four Players Offered New Deals

The Tigers have offered new deals to four players who are due to see their contracts with the Club expire this summer.

Max Clark, Abel Hernandez, Seb Larsson and Moses Odubajo have all been offered the chance to remain a part of Head Coach Nigel Adkins’ squad and are currently considering their options.

Allan McGregor was another offered a new deal, although he opted to return to Glasgow Rangers earlier this week.

The Club is also currently in discussions with Michael Dawson regarding his future, however we can confirm that David Meyler will leave the KCOM Stadium this summer when his current contract expires. Meyler, who initially joined on loan from Sunderland in 2012, made 191 appearances in black and amber, winning two promotions to the Premier League and appearing in the 2014 FA Cup Final.

We would like to thank David for the magnificent service he has given to us and wish him well for the future.

Also leaving the Club this summer are Academy graduates Greg Luer, Greg Olley and Josh Clackstone. Striker Luer made nine senior appearances after making his debut on the opening day of the 2015/16 season, whilst Olley appeared in two League Cup ties. Clackstone’s only senior appearance came in the cup defeat at Doncaster Rovers at the start of 2017/18.

We wish all three players well for the future and thank them for their efforts during their time at the KCOM Stadium.

Whilst those three young players depart, a number of others will be keen to take their opportunity after the Tigers’ Academy announced its retained list for the 2018/19 season.

Five of the current crop of second year Scholars have signed first professional contracts for next season with Josh Thacker, Elliot Holmes, Charlie Andrew, Max Sheaf and Ahmed Salam all stepping up to the Under-23 Development Squad on a full-time basis.

However, Mason Wilson-Rhiney will be allowed to leave the Academy following the expiry of his Scholarship deal.

Robbie McKenzie, Tyler Hamilton, Billy Chadwick and Keane Lewis-Potter are already under contract to be part of the Development Squad for 2018/19, whilst Adam Curry and Lewis Ritson have agreed new one-year deals.

However, the following players will see their time with the Club come to an end when their current contracts expire: James Yates, Will Annan, Ellis Barkworth, Charlie Dunkerley, Jonathan Saltmer, Tom Dyson, Liam Edwards, Jonathan Edwards and Ben Hinchliffe.

The Academy would like to thank those players released for their services, commitment and dedication during their time at the Club, whilst also wishing them every success for the future.


New Contract Offers:

Max Clark

Abel Hernandez

Seb Larsson

Moses Odubajo


Returning To Parent Club:

Ola Aina (Chelsea)

Michael Hector (Chelsea)

Fikayo Tomori (Chelsea)

Harry Wilson (Liverpool)



Josh Clackstone

Greg Luer

David Meyler

Greg Olley


First Professional Contracts:

Charlie Andrew

Elliot Holmes

Max Sheaf

Ahmed Salam

Josh Thacker


New One-Year Professional Deals:

Adam Curry

Lewis Ritson


Released From Academy:

Will Annan

Ellis Barkworth

Charlie Dunkerley

Tom Dyson

Jonathan Edwards

Liam Edwards

Ben Hinchliffe

Jonathan Saltmer

James Yates